November 21, 2016 {Week 75}: Happy Thanksgiving!

HOLA FAM & FRIENDS DE TRUJILLO, PERÚ!

This week was normal, lots of walking and knocking on doors. Hermana Malo has been kind of sick so I’ve just been taking it at her pace this week and praying that she gets better soon so I can finish this transfer strong!!

Something I have been thinking about this week is how the end of the mission is totally like the end of a cross country race. I remember Mr. Roneree would stand at the 500 yard mark at the end of every race…and I always knew that once I saw him I needed to pick up the pace cause the end was in sight! Mr. Roneree probably saved my life a few times cause just when I felt like I was about to keel over and die I saw him standing there on the sidelines and he was cheering and yelling and telling me to PICK UP THE PACE YOU’RE ALMOST THERE JUST 500 YARDS LEFT YOU CAN DO IT!!!! I feel like that’s the point I’m hitting right now! The end is in sight, just 500 yards left, keep going, you can do it!

Something fun and different this week was that the other ward that shares our building, barrio Chimú, asked me to play the piano for them and accompany the special musical number in their ward conference yesterday! That was fun and I was surprisingly grateful for the opportunity we had to go to a second sacrament meeting yesterday. I realized that every sacrament meeting for the past year and a half I have been a little preoccupied with counting assistance, seeing who’s there in church and who’s not, recojiendo investigadores y menos activos, finding members for our people to sit with, explaining things to people, helping, running around from side to side helping the bishop, the members, the investigators, etc etc etc and well yesterday in Chimu’s sacrament meeting I didn’t have to do any of that! It was so nice to sit calmly, play the piano, and really feel the spirit of sacrament meeting. And Chimu was so excited to have me play for them that they asked me to accompany their primary program next week so I’ll be doing that too! Super excited!!

En el barrio Granados yesterday was the Primary Program! Super adorable!!!! The niños are so cute and they did so well! The Primary even bought cake to share with everyone after church yesterday, they had ordered two special cakes in the form of scriptures! So cool! And of course because it was the primary program the assistance jumped to like 130, the people come out of the woodworks just to hear the children sing. Haha!

Everything else in Granadosland is normal, always teaching, always finding. I’m praying that we will have one more baptism before I go. One more baptism to end my mission…we will see how it goes.

So excited for Thanksgiving this week! Even though I’m down here in far-away Perú and won’t be able to stuff myself on turkey and mashed potatoes this Thursday, I will definitely be thinking of all the things I’m grateful for!!!! I am grateful for this time I have to serve the Lord as a full-time missionary, I’m grateful for my two wonderful mission presidents and their wives, I’m grateful for my amazing family and best parents ever and a million more things! Count your blessings cause I’m sure you have a ton!!!
XOXO,
Hermana Buti

IMG_2013.JPGIMG_2009.JPGIMG_2003.JPG

Leave a Reply

