September 19, 2016 {Week 66}:Hello My Loved Ones

HOLA MIS SERES QUERIDOS well the highlight of this week was definitely the stake conference we had yesterday!! Elder Taylor G. Godoy of the Seventy came to speak to our stake!!! He shared a 1 Peter 2:9 from the New Testament, que dice:

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light:

and based his talk on what it means to be ‘an holy nation’ – that ‘nation’ being the church, the members of the church! He said that our temple reccomend is like our DNI (peruvian version of ID) and that the commandments are like the laws of the land. He shared a whole lot more with much deeper comparisions but the point is his talk was really good and inspiring! I am starting to get really excited for general conference after hearing him speak yesterday!

I was also reminded of the sweet tender mercies of the Lord this week. Yesterday after stake conference as we were all mingling with the members of the stake I heard a woman start calling my name – ‘¡Hermana Butikofer! ¡Hermana Butikofer!!!’ so I start looking around, like who is calling my name?? When I see my sweet friend Carolina Lara running to me and she gave me a big hug! You guys!!! I met Carolina in the streets of California like 6 months ago…when I went down to Trujillo in April to pick up Hermana Holmes, we proselyted with an hermana from el barrio California. While we were out with her we met a sweet member on the street from la estaca Palermo, en la mision Sur! She was so excited to see missionaries out proselyting, she took a few pictures of us on her phone and we got pictures of us together, exchanged emails, and well that was that. Just a sweet member we met on the street! She emailed me the pictures she had taken of us and I responded a few times but hadn’t thought about her in MONTHS when she shows up to our stake conference yesterday! She said that she had seen me walk into the stake center and couldn’t believe I was there! She said, ‘is that Hermana Butikofer? Isn’t she in Cajamarca? Is she here in Trujillo now?’ Jajaja I told her that I had been transferred and that I’m now serving en la estaca Este, what are you doing here?? She said she had heard that Elder Godoy would be speaking at our stake conference and wanted to come to listen to a general authority in real life. Well the point is that it was a sweet moment and a tender mercy to run into a sweet friend at stake conference yesterday. The Lord is so kind ❤

I love Hermana Malo. She is a hoot and so fun to be with. She pushes me to be better and I love her for it. I also love that she is the perfect height to rest my arm on her shoulder so if any of you all come to Granados, Trujillo, Perú, and see two girls in skirts walking around, one gringa with her arm around the shoulder of the little latina, it is more than likely that it is us! It is our famous pose.

This time to write you all every week is sacred time…I know my emails aren’t always the best, the most detailed, the most spiritual, sometimes they probably even don’t make sense, but I don’t think any of you know how many times I have sat down at this computer every Monday afternoon and cried…cried for missing you, cried for my love for the mission and for this place, cried for how hard it is, cried for the joy of seeing people’s lives change, cried for seeing MY life change. I am not the same Abby I was before. I will never be the same, my heart will never be the same, I just pray that someone else’s life won’t be the same either, that I have maybe through my ministry, my service, my testimony changed someone else’s life as well.

Until next week,

Hermana Butikofer

IMG_0293.JPGIMG_0297.JPGIMG_0296.JPGIMG_0310.JPGIMG_0321.JPGIMG_0325.JPGIMG_0330.JPG

img_0322
Leave a Reply

