July 4, 2016 {Week 55}: Happy 4th!

[Here is short list of questions about Abby’s missionary life that Erin asked Abby and her responses.]

Do you wash clothes by hand? NO, WE HAVE SOMEBODY WHO DOES OUR LAUDRY.
Do you have air conditioning? NO, NO AIR CONDITIONING. IT’S ACTUALLY SO COLD HERE WE USE A HEATER AT NIGHT TO SLEEP!
Can you ride in motos? YES, WE CAN RIDE IN MOTOS.
With the changes in the sister missionary dress, are you going to be able to wear pants in your mission? THEY HAVEN’T SAID ANYTHING ABOUT PANTS YET, BUT I AIN’T GONNA WEAR PANTS!
When are your cambios? SATURDAY JULY 9

Can you drink the water from the tap? NO WE CANNOT DRINK TAP WATER.
Is it hot? HERE IN CAJAMARCA IT IS COLD BUT EVERYWHERE ELSE IN THE MISSION IT IS HOT.
Do people get sick a lot? I DON’T REALLY EVER GET SICK AND IT DOESN’T APPEAR THAT ANYBODY ELSE DOES EITHER. JUST MINOR THINGS I GUESS.
Has your hair gotten destroyed like mine?  I look like a witch everyday because all the ends have broken off on about half my head? NO, MY HAIR IS FINE.

HEY YOU ALL! Happy 4th of July!!! We will do our best to celebrate today but we are just two poor American girls living alone in Perú so I don’t know exactly what we will do today but we will come up with something!

So the biggest event of this week was that we met our dear new president, Presidente Marble, and his wife, Hermana Marble! Cajamarca was their first stop en conocienda la misión so we were lucky and got to meet them on Saturday. They came in, shook all our hands, we got to introduce ourselves to them and then they introduced themselves to us and we got to see pictures of their family and their own missions! President Marble served here in Peru, he actually served part of his mission IN TRUJILLO, so what a tender mercy that they are now the Trujillo mission presidents. And Hermana Marble served in Germany! How cool is that! So she’s going to be tri-lingual, so excited for her. They are so sweet, I love them already!!! I love President Marble’s soft heart, I think we are going to be fast friends 🙂

So the biggest thing coming up this week are CAMBIOS…that’s right, it’s that time again and this time cambios probablemente me tocarán. I have been here in Pueblo Libre 4 transfers now and I am just finishing up training (wow can’t believe we both survived that) so I feel like a cambio for me is coming…I am praying praying praying so hard that I am happy with whatever cambio comes my way and that I LOVE my new area and my new companion. My motto this week is ‘Come what may and love it!’ But today I just wanted to talk a little bit about this wonderful place, Pueblo Libre…

My very first day in the mission field, almost a year ago, the day I left the CCM and we had the ‘Meet Your Trainer’ meeting I was obviously really nervous about who would train me and where my first area would be. As we sat there waiting for our names to be called to be assigned to a trainer and an area, I heard everyone else’s names be called…and I heard that an elder in my group, Elder Quiroz, was going to a place called ‘Pueblo Libre, en la zona Cajamarca Sur.’ When I heard that, I thought to myself ‘if I ever go to Cajamarca, I’m going there, to Pueblo Libre en la zona Cajamarca Sur.’ I don’t know how I knew, but I knew. Something in my heart recognized that place and I knew I was needed there and I knew I would go there one day. I never forgot the name of that place and I still always thought, ‘if I go to Cajamarca, I’m going to Pueblo Libre.’ So really it was no surprise when I got my cambio to leave Pacasmayo that I was going to Pueblo Libre! Somehow I always knew. That confirms to me two things, that a) mission presidents are truly inspired and b) that we promised people before this life that we would find them, that we would go to where they are and bring them this wonderful message of the gospel. I know this is true. We missionaries have a connection with our investigators and menos activos that is something more than mortal, something that started before this life and I know will continue in the eternities. I think that’s why it’s always so hard for me to leave my areas, because I develop a love for them that is something celestial. I am praying praying praying so hard that cambios won’t be hard for me and that I love my new area as much as I love this one.

Prayers would be appreciated this week…

Love, Hermana Butikofer

IMG_0709.JPGIMG_0705.JPGIMG_0706.JPGIMG_0697.JPGIMG_0700.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

