June 27, 2016 {Week 54}: A Miraculous Week

Y’ALL THIS WEEK HAS BEEN FULL OF MILAGROS!!! So last week we were down in Trujillo allllll weeeeekkkkkk so I was honestly kind of scared for our area last week, that us little gardeners weren’t there to prune it take care of it for a whole week. I prayed every single night for our investigators and menos activos that they would continue progressing and praying and reading and that they would go to church even if Hermana Holmes and I weren’t there all week to visit them. AND WELL WE GOT BACK AND OUR PRAYERS WERE ANSWERED AND HEAVENLY FATHER BLESSED US WITH THE BEST WEEK EVER after not having been here en Pueblo Libre for a whole week. First of all, we had 34 lessons this week!!!! That is like WAY higher than average and it even makes up for us only having 6 lessons last week. But that’s not even the best part! The miracle is that WE HAD TWO BAPTISMS ON SATURDAY!!! Finally my dear friend Ivan got baptized on Saturday!!! He is the father of the military family, la familia Sanchez Sihuay! Gaby is his wife and was menos activa but we rescued her this week too and Ivan got baptized and his son Ivancito got baptized as well! You guys….that’s a whole family! This is every missionary’s dream, to have a whole family. Ivan and Ivancito were baptized on Saturday afternoon, Sunday morning the elder’s quorum taught him about the priesthood, before sacrament meeting the bishop interviewed him, and yesterday in sacrament meeting he and Ivancito were confirmed and he was sustained to the office of an elder!!!! The ward is really taking the initiative with this family, I can’t believe he was just baptized on Saturday and is already a priesthood holder.  In Ivancito’s confirmation blessing it talked about how he would grow up and serve a MISSION and in Ivan’s blessing it said that in short time he would be entering the temple to make sacred covenants with the Lord and with his wife. Translation… I will be back here in Peru next June for their sealing! 😉 THIS FAMILY IS SO GOLDEN!!! I will be BFFs with them for life and all of eternity, I just know it. I love that they are a military family just like mine, a Peruvian military family! It makes me so happy and I know I was sent here to find them 🙂 in the baptism service Ivancito bore his testimony and it was so sweet, he’s only 9 but he cried talking about how happy he was to finally get baptized and to be able to be baptized with his dad. Gaby bore her testimony as well as part of the talk that we asked her to give and she cried as well, saying that this day is the day she has been waiting for and praying for for a long time. That finally her whole family is part of the church and together in the gospel. Ivan well being a military man isn’t one to cry but he did bear his testimony as well and say that he is happy to be baptized and that he knows the gospel and being in the church will help him be a better father and husband. I just love them so much!!!

Well that was definitely the highlight of the week, we had 3 ALMAS this week which is like unheard of so we are psyched about that. I love the mission, I love this place. I feel like I have lucked into the best areas in the whole mission. PACASMAYO, an adorable beach town on the northwestern coast of Perú, and PUEBLO LIBRE, CAJAMARCA, a beautiful mountain city that takes my breath away each time I open our front door. Sometimes I am overwhelmed with gratitude to my Heavenly Father and my love for these people that it brings me to tears. How did I get so lucky?

President and Hermana Marler go home this week and on Saturday we are meeting our dear new president, President Marble and his wife Hermana Marble. Sad to see the Marlers go but excited to meet and love the Marbles!!!

OKAY I LOVE YOU ALL!!!!

Love, Hermanita Butikofer

IMG_3420.JPGIMG_3425.JPGIMG_3435.JPGIMG_3429.JPGIMG_3439.JPGIMG_3423.JPGIMG_3437.JPGIMG_3440.JPG

Leave a Reply

