January 4, 2016 {Week 29}: ¡Pacasmayo, Pacasmayo! Puerto de mi corazón

Hola familia y amigos!!! This week was a good one, ringing in the New Year and all! I don’t have a whole lot of time today so I will quickly tell a few short stories:

1) Hermana Garcia and I went up to el techo (our rooftop) on New Year’s Eve to ring in the new year! We ate popcorn and besos de moza (my favorite Peruvian sweet) and I will not tell you all the exact number of besos I ate 🙂 [linked here in case you might like to try them yourself!]
IMG_1763.JPG
IMG_1764.JPG

2) A dog peed on me this week. Yes, peed on me. I was standing in la calle writing something down in my agenda and a dog se acercó a mi (came near me) and I was like, oh hi doggy cause I like dogs and then it lifted its leg and peed on me!!!! I was not happy, I screamed and everyone in the calle laughed. [I wish I had a picture of that!]

3) CAMBIOS ARE THIS WEEK. I am a bit nervous but learning to trust in the Lord in all things. Please pray for me that I’ll be happy with whatever passes and accept His will!

Sorry I don’t have much more time today but enjoy the pictures. Also the title of this email is from a song. Yes, Pacasmayo has its own song!

Love,
Hermana Butikofer

IMG_1755.JPG
IMG_1758.JPG
IMG_1761.JPGIMG_1759.JPGPeruvians have a New Year’s Eve tradition of dressing up a large doll or effigy (sometimes stuffed with fireworks) with old clothes and burning it on the street. This signifies getting rid of the old, and making a new start. These were a few we saw on New Year’s Eve.

IMG_1751.JPG
The missionaries of Pacasmayo
pacasmayo-peru-101-dios-closeup.jpg
There is a verse on the statue. The verse is taken from the Wisdom of Solomon 3:1, “the souls of the righteous are in the hand of God”
IMG_1752.JPGIMG_1744.JPGIMG_1719.JPGIMG_1718.JPGIMG_1753.JPG
IMG_1745.JPGIMG_1720.JPGIMG_1747.JPG
A few pictures of our beautiful beachIMG_1739.JPGIMG_1729.JPGIMG_1727.JPGIMG_1730.JPGIMG_1731.JPGIMG_1733.JPG
These last few pictures are of the Pacasmayo (oceanfront) 
Cemetery where Nora (my friend who died unexpectedly a few weeks ago) is buried.  We found her grave on our last Pday.
IMG_1754.JPG
I couldn’t resist posting this picture of Elder Males.  He was in the MTC with me and has been here in Pacasmayo with me from the very beginning.  He is from an indigenous group of Equador where apparently they keep their hair long. His hair is longer than mine!
Leave a Reply

