November 2, 2015 {Week 20}: THE BEST WEEK

TODOS, seriously, every week I don’t think it’s possible to have an even better week but alas every week I am surprised! This week was THE BEST WEEK of my mission!! We had awesome numbers (36 lessons, 15 nuevos, 1 rescue, 2 fechas bautismales) AND we went to the temple with Lorenita on Thursday for her birthday!! Several cool/awesome/funny things happened this week that I want to quickly talk about:

1. So in our apartment there’s a hole in our roof. I don’t really know why but part of our apartment is covered and part of it is not haha. SO on Tuesday Hermana Garcia and I were leaving to go out for the afternoon when I realized that dang it, I didn’t have the keys with me!! And our vecinos (neighbors) who live in the other apartment in our building weren’t home! And our pension (lady who cooks for us) wasn’t home either! So what were we gonna do without our keys?? Wellll, we decided to go up to the roof where I jumped from the roof into our apartment. Yep I jumped. Well more like shimmied down the wall. Hermana Garcia held onto my hands and I walked myself down the wall until I jumped the rest of the way down. And that’s how we got back into our apartment that day! Hahahaha the mission is so fun and so funny.

2. On Thursday we went to the temple with Liliana and Lorena to celebrate Lorena’s birthday!!

IMG_1184

Thursday was her 12th birthday exactly, so it was super special to go on that day. Definitely a birthday she will never forget and a day I will never forget! This was my first time seeing the baptismal font in the Trujillo Temple. GUYS I AM NOT KIDDING WHEN I SAY THAT THIS IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL TEMPLE ON THE FACE OF THE PLANET. The baptismal font literally took my breath away. It is gorgeous. I teared up just entering into the room. When Lorena got in the font and was doing the baptisms, Hermana Garcia sat nearby and watched. And oh my goodness let me just tell you…that was one of the best moments of my mission so far. Sitting there in the temple with my recent convert, her first time in the temple, watching her perform these sacred ordinances, knowing that I helped her get there! So humbling and so fulfilling to see these people I love progress in the gospel. After she was done with baptisms and confirmations we sat on a couch in the temple for a few minutes…she didn’t want to leave (neither did I). It was a very special moment…we held hands and sang hymns together and said a prayer and cried. She said that she wanted to move to the temple, that she was moving in and never leaving. Hahaha she is so cute and I just love that she loves the temple too! I feel you, Lorena! I wanna live in the temple too!!! When we left she said “No me gustó, me ENCANTÓ” aka I didn’t like it, I LOVED it. After the temple we went out to lunch at a cafe on the Plaza de Armas in Trujillo and then we took some pics at the Plaza de Armas. It was cool because it was my first time being there! Then we got ice cream and came home to Pacasmayo. A perfect day 🙂

IMG_1178

3. Sometimes I feel like my life is a movie. Seriously, is this even real life?? I don’t think so. I must be dreaming. This week Hermana Garcia and I went up to our roof with a candle where we did our daily planning by starlight and candlelight. I also brought my music player (best thing to bring on the mission) and after planning we had a dance party on the roof…to the hymns. Hahaha it was awesome! But seriously just being up there on the roof late at night playing music and laughing and speaking Spanish, I just can’t even believe this is real life! Yes I’m on a mission and there’s a lot of work to do but I’m still a nineteen-year-old girl in a foreign country and it’s so much fun to have an adorable little Mexicana by my side 24/7 and heck if we feel like going up to our roof and throwing a little 2-person dance party we do cause we can and it’s awesome. Tonight we plan on roasting marshmallows (we have matches and wood heeheeheeheeheee). So really the mission is a lot of work but it’s so easy to also make it some of the funnest times ever!!!

IMG_1190

My ponderize scripture is DC 59:4 – ‘And they shall also be crowned with blessings from above, yea, and with commandments not a few, and with revelations in their time – they that are faithful and diligent before me.’ I love that if we are diligent and faithful, we are promised to be CROWNED with BLESSINGS from above. Lately I have been studying and pondering the relationship between faithfulness and diligence. Y’all should do the same.

Have a great week!
Love, Hermana Butikofer

IMG_1080
Photographic evidence that I live in paradise

IMG_1189
IMG_1177
As seen around town
Leave a Reply

