October 26, 2015 {Week 19}: In the Best Hands

Hola familia y amigos! Hope you’ve all had a great week. I sure have here in dreamy Pacasmayo! Nothing spectacular happened, just another good week.

Today I really want to talk about some of the people I’ve met on the mission. It seriously AMAZES me everyday that somehow it’s possible to hold this much love in my little heart!!! Seriously somehow I just love love love love love love love like everyone I meet. I love my investigators, my menos activos, and oh especially my mission friends! I feel like when you hear other missionaries talk about the people they met on the mission you really just hear mostly about the members and converts and stuff but oh my, my fellow missionaries here in Trujillo Norte are changing my life. I can’t even imagine not having gone on the mission because that means I never would have met these amazing missionaries and fellow servants of the Lord. The mission is the only place I ever would have met any of them and I am just so so so so so grateful to be here and to know them.

Let me talk about some of my bfffffffffffs:
Hermana Garcia: MI NUEVA COMPAÑERA! Hermana Garcia and I were actually in the CCM together, we both just got out of our training, and now we’re together here in Pacasmayo! We’re co-companions but I’m leading the area because she’s new here. We are actually the only co-companionship in the mission right now which I think is cool. We’re both super new and super young on the mission but Heavenly Father and President Marler have trusted us with this part of the viña together! I am so grateful to be with her, I am learning so much from her testimony and her example. She’s the greatest.

IMG_1066

IMG_1068Hermana Garcia y yo

Something interesting about our district is that we’re all super super super young in this district. I’m pretty sure we’re the youngest district in the whole mission. Hermana Garcia and I only have two transfers in the field. Elder Males has two and is training now, so his companion, Elder Wynn, has zero. Elder Herrera, our district leader, has one year on the mission so that would be 8 transfers, and he is also training so his companion, Elder Cantos, has zero transfers. Soooo on average we have 2.3 transfers on the mission. I don’t know why but for some reason we youngens have been put together to help this area grow!! I love that we have been trusted with the work here in Pacasmayo. We don’t have a whole lot of experience but we have PASSION and TESTIMONIES and the DILIGENCE to work hard. I love my district!!!

IMG_1063My district that I love!

Okay back to the people I wanted to talk about.

Elder Males: Oh my oh my oh my Elder Males is one of my very bestest friends in the whole world. I seriously have never had a friend like him before. He is from Ecuador and was in the MTC with me and Hermana Garcia. We came to Pacasmayo together so we’ve been together our whole missions so far! Elder Males is so humble, so Christlike, and truly an example to me. He helps me and he gives me advice and ánimo. He encourages me and he sees me as Heavenly Father sees me. He is such a simple and powerful teacher, he is a hard worker, and he always knows what needs to be done and how to do it. Wow he is just amazing and I am so grateful to be here with him! I seriously don’t know what I’m going to do when cambios inevitably come and we are separated. He’s like family.

Elder Ramirez: I love Elder Ramirez just as much as I love Elder Males. Also in the CCM with me, he is from Chile. Elder Ramirez is a convert of only 2 years but he is so strong and so faithful and seriously just amazing in all ways! He is so responsible and capable and so trustworthy. He also is training now, like Elder Males. One thing special about Elder Ramirez is that when we were leaving the CCM, Presidente Gonzalez had Elder Ramirez promise him that he would take care of me on the mission…that he would cuidarme and protegerme and watch out for me. And well I love that because somehow we got lucky enough that now we’re in the same zone. I’m here in Pacasmayo and he’s about 40 minutes north in Chepén. Presidente Gonzalez back in the MTC didn’t know that we would end up in the same zone and Presidente Marler didn’t know that Elder Ramirez had promised to take care of me but divine intervention let us be near each other so Elder Ramirez could keep his promise. I just hope and pray that we stay close to each other so he can continue to keep that promise and well also because he’s one of my best friends!

Like I said earlier, I seriously don’t know what I’m going to do when I’m separated from these people. I will cry.  This email has been kind of all over the place but I just wanted to give you all a taste of the seriously wonderful people I’ve met on the mission. I am becoming more and more convinced that the best people in this world are Latinos. I love Latinos soooooo much!!! I guess I just want you all to know, especially my parents, that if at any time you are worried about me being in a foreign country out on my own seriously don’t worry about me!!! I have these amazing people looking out for me. I am in the best hands there are: the Lord’s!

Love you all! This week I encourage you to excercise your faith to see little miracles in your daily life. That’s where true happiness lies!

Love, Hermana Butikofer

I almost forgot to add my ponderize scripture for the week.  I will give you last week’s as well because I KNOW I forgot it. I am focusing on increasing my faith to see miracles in this work!

Mosiah 8:18 (last week’s) Thus God has provided a means that man, through faith, might work mighty miracles; therefore he becometh a great benefit to his fellow beings.

Doctrine & Covenants 103:36 All victory and glory is brought to pass unto you through your diligence, faithfulness, and prayers of faith.

IMG_1071
As seen around town
Leave a Reply

