October 12, 2015 {Week 17}: Has another week really flown by??

Hola familia y amigos! Has another week really flown by?? Something I’ve learned from the mission is just that time really is unstoppable. It just keeps on moving forward and there’s nothing we can do about it! It really makes me realize how precious and sacred this time is that I have to be out serving the Lord. I can’t waste a single minute!!

This week was awesome for several reasons:

1. I got my very first package this week! Thanks Mommy and Papa and Jamie, it seriously made my day to get a little piece of home!!

2. We got a therma! Woohoo!! So now we actually have a showerhead instead of a piece of pipe sticking out of the wall! Annnnd that also means that we should be getting hot water this week too!! Yayyyyy for no more cold showers!

3. My ponderizing scripture for this week is Ether 12:14-16:

Behold, it was the faith of Nephi and Lehi that wrought the change upon the Lamanites, that they were baptized with fire and with the Holy Ghost.  Behold, it was the faith of Ammon and his brethren which wrought so great a miracle among the Lamanites.  Yea, and even all they who wrought miracles wrought them by faith, even those who were before Christ and also those who were after.

I have chosen this scripture to help me remember to have enough FAITH to witness MIRACLES in this great work!

This week we already saw several little miracles. One of our menos activos, Carmen, set a date to go to the temple to receive her own endowment!! Yay!! One of our investigators, Roberto, accepted a baptism date and asked his son to baptize him! Yes! Every day we see great things happening, but those are some developments here in Pacasmayo that have me pretty excited 🙂

This week should be pretty busy! We have a multizona conference in Trujillo on Friday with a member of the Seventy, so excited to learn from him. And then Nora’s birthday is on Tuesday and we got special permission to take her to the temple for her birthday!! So we should be going down to the temple with her sometime this week to celebrate her birthday! I LOVE having a temple in my mission, it is seriously such a blessing and a realization of my patriarchal blessing that I get to have this temple here and the opportunity to visit it so often. I love the temple! Also happening this week are CAMBIOS! We don’t know what’s going to happen yet but by the time I email you next week we will so be praying for me please! I am excited but a little nervous seeing as these are my first real cambios in the field 🙂

Hope you all have a fantastic week! Love every single one of you and pray for you every day. That’s what we missionaries do 🙂

Love, Hermana Butikofer
IMG_0894
 Obsession with mini spoons was satisfied
IMG_0896
A little taste of home
IMG_0897
Face wipes
IMG_0899
New dress
IMG_0895
Chocolate chips
IMG_0905
From her companion
IMG_0902
Seen on the streets of Pacasmayo
IMG_0907
 And another…
Leave a Reply

