October 5, 2015 {Week 16}: GEN CON YO

OKAY EVERYONE LET’S TALK ABOUT HOW AWESOME CONFERENCE WAS. Wasn’t it just so great??? How grateful I am to have modern-day prophets and revelation! As one elder said yesterday after the last session, ‘The Church gets truer and truer everyday!’ Thanks to continuing revelation that is actually so true! Every conference we get closer and closer to Christ and Heavenly Father and for that I am so grateful!

My favorite talks were by Robert D. Hales, Russell M. Nelson, and Devin G. Durrant. Robert D. Hales gave a lot of great advice for a young adult like me!! I love the wisdom of our leaders. I also love how he emphasized not to go into debt for an education…thank you Utah State!!! [Yes, bless you Utah State for paying her way through school] I LOVED Russell M. Nelson’s talk on women. I just want to become that sort of woman!! I am so grateful for my awesome parents who have raised me that way…I still have a long way to go but I think I’m on the right track thanks to them! My parents are awesome. And then, Devin G. Durrant’s talk on ponderizing! My ponderizing scripture this week is Alma 29:10 ‘And behold, when I see many of my bretheren truly penitent and coming to the Lord their God, then is my soul filled with joy; then do I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea, then do I remember his merciful arm which he extended towards me.’ I am so excited to pOnDeRiZe this scripture this week! I have it written down in English and Spanish.  Here it is in Spanish, ‘Y he aquí, cuando veo a muchos de mis hermanos verdaderamente arrepentidos, y que vienen al Señor su Dios, mi alma se llena de gozo; entonces recuerdo lo que el Señor ha hecho por mí, sí, que ha oído mi oración; sí, entonces recuerdo su misericordioso brazo que extendió hacia mí.’  I will be ponderizing it in two languages.  I have accepted the challenge to “ponderize” a scripture each week. [From Erin’s blog…The word ponderize is not found in the dictionary but it has found a place in my heart. Ponderizing involves choosing a verse of scripture, putting it in a visible location, and pondering its meanings throughout the week. I like to say it’s a combination of 80 percent extended pondering and 20 percent memorization.]
Well I don’t have much more time but I love you all and y’all are awesome!  Go rewatch General Conference if you can, I wish I could!
Besos y abrazos,
Hermana Butikofer
For Pday this past week we went to Pakatnamu, an archaeoligcal site! It was super cool to see an old nephite/lamanite city (I’m guessing that’s what it was).

IMG_0835

IMG_0833

IMG_0840

IMG_0842

IMG_0839

IMG_0846

IMG_0843

Sitio Arqueologico de Pakatnamu, Pacasmayo, rotas turisticas

Leave a Reply

